Wanderlust?

Is that a good excuse? 

I am pretty awful at this “blogging” thing. I used to be pretty good at it, but something about sitting in Europe just makes it not at the top of my priority list. 

So after Paris, we stuck around the Netherlands for awhile and went to the market in the city centre on quite a few Saturdays… and then spent some time going out to the Flying Horse student pub, let me tell you… those turn into long nights. I ache for the sweet peaceful bliss of an early bar-time. Here, they go out at 1am and stay out until 430am and if you’re really lucky, then they drag you to a club. WHAT?! yeah. Insane. However, being an American girl… you don’t usually buy any of your own drinks. 

A few weeks back I headed to Brussels with my roommate, also an American, and a friend from our home university studying elsewhere in the Netherlands. It was fun to hang out with all Americans and we had a blast in our 48 hours there. Even sat and had some beer at an outdoor pub. Palm beer is real tasty.. so in Ciney. 

Well we also ventured to mini-holland, the delft, and den haag. All of these places are freaking awesome, and I cannot wait to go back and visit them again with our 14 Euro train passes on weekends… lets just hope we can avoid all of the protests in Den Haag. 

But lets get real. This post is because I had a BLAST when I was in Kobenhavn, or Copenhagen in the western world, this weekend. I went to visit some friends who lived there and Denmark is beautiful! I should have studied abroad there, it was gorgeous and a very easy place for me to just slide right into the culture. Although, Zwolle is pretty awesome too. 

The bus ride to Copenhagen was scheduled to be 11 hours. So leave Zwolle on the train to Groningen (57 minutes) then wait for the bus for an hour on the side of the road. So at 6pm I loaded the bus and we left to be on our happy way. Actually had my passport checked on the German border, that was new… and then our bus left some of the passengers at the stop, so we were put 40 minutes behind schedule to go back and pick them up. Sweet, not to bad, better than arriving at 515am. HA! Good joke, we got to Hamburg and then the bus stopped for nearly TWO HOURS. what the crap?! yeah. Needless to say, my sleep was not kept very long. We then got on a ferry at 4am for 45 minutes to cross the North Sea.. I made it to Copenhagen at 730 in the morning. Not to shabby. Got on the S-train and headed toward Skovlunde where I got to stay with Rolf Hansen and Maja Petersen for a few days before heading back to Zwolle. All of my experiences in Denmark were absolutely wonderful! I had the opportunity so see so many new things, try some new food, and get to take part in a fall that is nearly nonexistent in the Netherlands. Tivoli Gardens is by far one of the best things ever! 

 

Can’t wait for all of the new experiences to come! Oh and to see my mom in Dublin for Christmas/the New Year! Woooo!!

About Kate Abroad & Home

I am a graduating senior at the University of Wisconsin - Platteville majoring in History and Political Science. For the Fall 2013 semester I chose to study abroad in Zwolle, Netherlands at the Windesheim University of Applied Sciences studying International Business and Languages. At home I work two on campus jobs: a student worker in the library and a tour guide for Prospective Student Services. More recently I have opted to work as an Education Abroad Ambassador helping future students study abroad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment